Neath the Gloaming Star - CD


Neath the Gloaming Star - CD


Beautiful sleeve and lyric booklet, shot and designed by Elly Lucas ( 

Also available on Bandcamp.

Add To Cart

Produced by acclaimed musician and producer Euan Burton, the album has a bright and modern sound whilst remaining true to the folk tradition it is inspired by. “Neath the Gloaming Star” features a carefully balanced mix of beloved traditional songs, self-penned tracks and soulful covers of some of Scotland’s best-loved songwriters of the folk-revival - two late greats are celebrated in re-workings of Andy M. Stewart’s Where Are You (Tonight I Wonder?), and Rose O’ Summerlee by Davy Steele, which features folk legend Phil Cunningham. Meanwhile more contemporary songs – Wander Through This Land and Wasting Time - further develop the emotive themes of loss, love, hardship and longing that run throughout the album.


Hannah Rarity: Vocals

Innes White: Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar (1, 4 & 9), Celeste (3), Backing Vocals (2)

John Lowrie: Piano, Drums & Percussion

Euan Burton: Double Bass, Electric Bass, Electric Guitar (2)

Sally Simpson: Fiddle, Viola

Conal McDonagh: Whistles

Phil Cunningham: Accordion (11)



Produced by Euan Burton.

Recorded and Mixed by Euan Burton at GloWorm Recording, Glasgow.

Mastered by Stuart Hamilton at Castlesound Studios.

Photography, Artwork and Layout by Elly Lucas.